# Call for Papers: ISAAC 2018

The 29th International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation December 16–19, 2018, Jiaoxi, Yilan County, Taiwan http://isaac2018.ie.nthu.edu.tw/

The 29th International Symposium on Algorithms and Computation (ISAAC 2018) will take place in **Jiaoxi, Yilan County, Taiwan on December 16-19, 2018**. The symposium is intended to provide a forum for researchers working in algorithms and theory of computation. Papers presenting original research on all aspects of algorithms and theory of computation are sought. The topics include, but are not limited to:

- Algorithmic game theory
- Algorithms and data structures
- Approximation algorithms
- Combinatorial optimization
- Computational biology
- Computational complexity
- Computational geometry
- Cryptography
- Experimental algorithmics
- Graph drawing and graph algorithms
- Internet algorithms
- Online algorithms
- Parallel and distributed algorithms
- Quantum computing
- Randomized algorithms

# **Important Dates**

- Submission deadline: June 29 (Fri), 2018 (AoE)
- Acceptance notification: August 31 (Fri), 2018
- Camera-ready version: September 21 (Fri), 2018
- Early registration: October 5 (Fri), 2018
- Conference dates: December 16 (Sun) 19 (Wed), 2018

# **Special Workshop**

In this year's ISAAC, we will organize a special workshop on Dec. 16 and invite several internationally renowned computer scientists who were born in 1949 or earlier as special guest speakers. The list of speakers is as follows:

### **Invited Speakers**

Tetsuo Asano (JAIST, Japan)
Fan Chung Graham (UC San Diego, USA)
Ronald Graham (UC San Diego, USA)
Leonidas Guibas (Stanford University, USA)
Kurt Mehlhorn (Max Planck, Germany)
Andrew Chi-Chih Yao (Tsinghua, Beijing, China)

## **Keynote Speakers**

Clifford Stein (Columbia University, USA) Shang-Hua Teng (University of Southern California, USA)

# **Submissions and Proceedings**

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract or full paper of at most 12 pages (including references, but excluding the optional appendix). The submission should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. Authors are encouraged to also make full versions of their submissions freely accessible in an online repository such as ArXiv, ECCC, etc. Papers must not be submitted simultaneously to another conference with refereed proceedings or to a journal. Drafts which contain essentially the same results as papers under review in other conferences or journals cannot be submitted to ISAAC 2018. At least one author of an accepted paper is required to present the paper at the conference as a registered participant. Only electronic submission will be allowed via Easychair at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=isaac2018.

The ISAAC 2018 proceedings will be published in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs) series, based at Schloss Dagstuhl. Submissions should be formatted in the LIPIcs LaTeX style, which is available at <a href="http://drops.dagstuhl.de/styles/lipics-v2018/lipics-v2018-authors.tgz">http://drops.dagstuhl.de/styles/lipics-v2018/lipics-v2018-authors.tgz</a>. Submissions failing to adhere to the guidelines will be rejected without consideration of their merits.

## **Awards**

The Best Paper and the Best Student Paper will be awarded. A paper is eligible for the Best Student Paper if all authors are full-time students at the time of submission. To indicate that a submission is eligible, please add the phrase "Eligible for best student paper" in the web form on the submission server as well as in the paper.

## **Sponsors**













# **Committee**

### **Conference Chair**

D. T. Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

#### **Program Committee**

Sang Won Bae (Kyonggi University, Korea)

Mark Bun (Princeton University, USA)

Hubert Chan (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

Danny Chen (University of Notre Dame, USA)

Ho-Lin Chen (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)

Kai-Min Chung (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

Leah Epstein (University of Haifa, Israel)

MohammadTaghi Hajiaghayi (University of Maryland, USA)

Wing-Kai Hon (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)

Seok-Hee Hong (University of Sydney, Australia)

Sun-Yuan Hsieh (National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan)

Wen-Lian Hsu (Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Co-Chair)

Zhiyi Huang (The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

Giuseppe F. Italiano (University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy)

Naonori Kakimura (Keio University, Japan)

Ralf Klasing (CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France)

Dieter Kratsch (Universite de Lorraine, Metz, France)

Minming Li (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)

Yi Li (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)

Chung-Shou Liao (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan, Co-Chair)

Pinyan Lu (Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, China)

Kazuhisa Makino (Kyoto University, Japan)

Petra Mutzel (TU Dortmund University, Germany)

Jesper Nederlof (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands)

Evanthia Papadopoulou (Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland)

Kunsoo Park (Seoul National University, Korea)

Seth Pettie (University of Michigan, USA)

Marcin Pilipczuk (University of Warsaw, Poland)

Kunihiko Sadakane (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Rahul Shah (Louisiana State University, USA)

Tetsuo Shibuya (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Xiaoming Sun (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Shin-ichi Tanigawa (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Takeshi Tokuyama (Tohoku University, Japan)

Rob van Stee (University of Siegen, Germany)

Dorothea Wagner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)

Haitao Wang (Utah State University, USA)

Gerhard Woeginger (RWTH Aachen, Germany)

Prudence Wong (The University of Liverpool, UK)

Hsu-Chun Yen (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)

Huacheng Yu (Harvard University, USA)

Christos Zaroliagis (University of Patras, Greece)

Guochuan Zhang (Zhejiang University, China)

### **Organizing Co-Chairs**

Ho-Lin Chen (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)

Wing-Kai Hon (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)